More 50th News

Spoiler-phobs turn away NOW!

Female First is reporting that Peter Davison will be appearing in the 50th anniversary special.  Confirmed.  Although if you actually read it, it doesn’t say he’s in the 50th.  Instead it says he’s appearing in something over that time frame.  Either way, it’s just more information to add to the pile.:

Peter Davison has confirmed he will appear in the ‘Doctor Who’ 50th  anniversary special.

The 62-year-old actor, who played the Fifth Doctor in the BBC sci-fi series  from 1981 to 1984, admitted he is going to play a part in the one-off episode on  November 23 and while he is looking forward to seeing it all come together, he  is remaining tight-lipped about the specific details of his role.

He told BANG Showbiz: “I’m making an appearance somewhere over that period of  time but I can’t reveal in what.

“I can’t reveal anything specific about it. I’m not allowed to.

“It is a big year for the show and we’re all doing our bit for it. Trust  me.”

The episode will be one of Matt Smith’s last  appearances as the titular Time Lord, but Peter is excited about 55-year-old  Peter Capaldi taking over the role from next year because he believes the ‘Thick  of It’ star will bring some much-needed maturity to the part.

He added: “I think it’s a great choice, I really think it’s a brilliant  choice. So many names have been banded about.

“When I heard who it was I just thought that’s a great choice.

“He’s a fantastic actor and he has that sort of sense of humour. He has an  edge to him as well and I think it’s nice to have a maturer Doctor.

“I grew up with mature Doctors so I think it’s an excellent choice.”

Peter would love to see one of his grandchildren appear as the Doctor one day  following in the footsteps of him and his son-in-law David Tennant – who is  married to Peter’s daughter Georgia Moffett – but joked it might resemble the  controversial North Korean dynasty, which is passed down from father to son.

He quipped: “‘Doctor Who’ is a bit like the North Korean dynasty, we’re just  going to pass it on down the line until one of us pops our clogs. It’s all ours  now – it’s the Davison and Tennant dynasty.”

However, Peter – who has been married to Elizabeth Morton since 2003 – admits  he fears for the show’s future and wouldn’t be surprised if people got “tired”  of watching the sci-fi series and bosses decided to take it off air.

He said: “There will get to a point where people get a bit tired of ‘Doctor  Who’. I don’t know, maybe it will need a little rest. I’d love to see it carry  on but you can never tell.”

Now to address his last comment, I could watch Doctor Who forever.  I’ve been watching it my whole life and I’m not sick of it yet.

2 thoughts on “More 50th News

Leave a Reply

