Broadchurch Remake

In case you haven’t already heard, the US network Fox is doing a remake of Broadchurch.  After the Stars network took over Torchwood, I physically winced a the news.  I was also not a fan of the Americanized version of Shameless (I LOVED the original version) or The Office (though I was never that big a fan to start with).  The thought of another American network ruining beautiful British programming physically turns my stomach.

Apparently it will be called Gracepoint.  It will run for 10 episodes and the killer will be different than on Broadchurch… and it will star David Tennant.  You have my attention, but I’m still not completely on board with this…

I just don’t understand why the need to remake the series as opposed to just paying for the rights to air it.  I also don’t understand why Tennant needs an American accent.  Is the idea of a Scottish accent that scary?

What do you think?  Here’s the trailer:

Leave a Reply

