Under The Lake – New Who Season 9 Episode 3 Review

Okay, okay, I know I’m way behind.  I don’t know what I’d do without a PVR.  Seriously I’ve had no time on my hands but have some serious catching up to do.  I’m going to try and work my way through some episodes as best I can.  I’ve even been avoiding Twitter so I don’t accidentally see anything about an episode.  Here we go with Under the Lake! – Spoilers!!!

A mysterious craft and some shadowy figures on an underwater base is always a good start to the show.  A character needs to die for us to realize we’re dealing with ghosts?  I’d like to think we’re all a little smarter than than.

Meanwhile back at my place I have a cat sleeping (and drooling) on my arm.  It makes it very difficult to type…

Après-credits (that’s right, my French is “awesome”), our heroes come along with an apparently unhappy TARDIS.  Clara wants some adventure and the Doctor seems to be right there with her.  I think this is a “be careful what you wish for” sort of situation.  But we run into the ghosts without incident and then arrive at the… ummm… spaceship?

Yes, the alien has confirmed the craft is alien.  Good.  Right.  On with it then.  So we now have ghosts that can wield weapons and in the general run-for-your-life scenario our dynamic duo meet up with the live portion of the crew.  Standard explanations ensue, and our ghosts now appear to be something else which only comes out at night.  Thankfully it’s “morning” in our dark scary underwater base and we can get on with our investigation.

On a side note, I love the fact that Clara has cards for the Doctor so he can be a little less… alien.  I’m really enjoying the back to “I don’t understand feelings” Doctor.  Also loving the fact that he gets so excited that he needs to calm himself down.  Clara seems to be getting overly excited as well.  She’s too at home as a companion, which may just get her killed this season.

We have some filler, the sub switches to night mode and we kill off an annoying character.  That means a close call with a ghost with a last second switch to day mode just in time for him to disappear.  All right, I take a bit of issue with this one.  It’s not like the group was trapped or there was another ghost blocking the exit.  They could have just run away.  But I digress…

They hatch a plan to catch a ghost but things go badly.  In the end of course the plan works out and all of the ghosts are captured.  The Doctor pops in and figures out what they want.  Some investigating leads to a stasis chamber from the ship and some more questions,  but the Doctor seems to figure it out.  Unfortunately the base starts to flood and he gets separated from Clara.  He and half he group jump in the TARDIS and head back in time to fix the issue.

Flash to Clara and the rest of the group who are waiting for his return.  We see another ghost, meaning someone died when they went to the past… and it’s the Doctor…

Okay, didn’t see that one coming.  Looks like we’re going to have plenty of multi part episodes this season.  I’d certainly rather see them do that and do a better job on the story than rush it.  And I really didn’t feel like there was a ton of filler here.  Looks like I can’t get to part 2 tonight, but I’m hoping before this week is out… and my cat is still drooling on my arm…

Leave a Reply

